Music Mondays: ACM Awards Picks

BlukeforShoware

Source: ACM Ticketing

The 49th Academy of Country Music Awards will air live from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on April 6th, with Blake Shelton and Luke Bryan returning to host.  There are many talented nominees, but only one can win in each category.  Here are the nominees that I am hoping for!

Entertainer of the Year

Luke Bryan
Miranda Lambert
Blake Shelton
George Strait
Taylor Swift

Come on, he’s King George.  He’s embarking on his farewell tour this year, so surely the prestigious award will go to him.  The others, completely ridiculously talented, still have a very long way to go in their careers.  I think the Academy of Country Music will give this one to George.

Male Vocalist of the Year
Jason Aldean
Lee Brice
Luke Bryan
Blake Shelton
Keith Urban

It’s close between Blake and Luke, but I think Luke will take this if he doesn’t get Entertainer.  His album “Crash My Party” has done amazingly well and his Dirt Road Diaries Tour spread like wildfire, selling out massive venues.  Luke took home Entertainer last year, so if George wins it this year, I think Luke has a great chance for this one.

Source: Huffington Post

Female Vocalist of the Year
Sheryl Crow
Miranda Lambert
Kacey Musgraves
Taylor Swift
Carrie Underwood

I’ll be surprised if Miranda doesn’t win this one.  She’s been ruling this category for a few years in a row so she should probably expect another trophy for the mantle.

Vocal Duo of the Year

Big & Rich
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Love and Theft
Thompson Square

All very promising candidates, but I think FL/GA Line has it this year.  Admit it, when “Cruise” comes on the radio, you don’t change the station.  It seems like every time I hear country radio (every day), one of their hit songs is on!

Vocal Group of the Year

Eli Young Band
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
The Band Perry
Zac Brown Band

This is really hard for me to guess because I am absolutely obsessed with each of these bands.  I think TBP will take this one home, but I think Lady A and LBT also have strong shots.  Gahh, they are all so good!

New Artist of the Year

Brett Eldredge
Justin Moore
Kip Moore

My vote’s on Kip Moore!  It’s tough to say, but at the top of my head, I can think of more of his songs than the other two.  Plus, come on, have you seen those arms of his?!  Swoon.

CrashMyPartyCD

Source: Wikipedia

Album of the Year

Based On A True Story… – Blake Shelton
Crash My Party – Luke Bryan
Here’s To The Good Times – Florida Georgia Line
Same Trailer Different Park – Kacey Musgraves
Two Lanes Of Freedom – Tim McGraw

I would LOVE for Kacey to win, because her album is completely phenomenal. But I think this will also go to Luke, given the immense success he has had with “Crash My Party.”

Single Record of the Year

Cruise – Florida Georgia Line
Highway Don’t Care – Tim McGraw ft. Taylor Swift & Keith Urban
I Drive Your Truck – Lee Brice
Mama’s Broken Heart – Miranda Lambert
Wagon Wheel – Darius Rucker ft. Lady Antebellum

Another really hard category to pick from!  I think “Cruise” by FL/GA Line will take it, but “Highway Don’t Care” has a good possibility as well.

Song of the Year

Every Storm (Runs Out Of Rain) – Gary Allan
I Drive Your Truck – Lee Brice
Mama’s Broken Heart – Miranda Lambert
Mine Would Be You – Blake Shelton
Wagon Wheel – Darius Rucker ft. Lady Antebellum

I’m realllllly hoping this goes to Miranda.  I’m obsessed with that song and Kacey Musgraves co-wrote it, and she’s a songwriting genius.

Video of the Year

Better Dig Two – The Band Perry
Blowin’ Smoke – Kacey Musgraves
Highway Don’t Care – Tim McGraw ft. Taylor Swift & Keith Urban
I Drive Your Truck – Lee Brice
Mama’s Broken Heart – Miranda Lambert
Two Black Cadillacs – Carrie Underwood

This could honestly go to anyone, but I’m guessing Queen Carrie will take this one.  It’d be nice to see her win in this category, because the video for “Two Black Cadillacs” was awesome.

bmmhsticuaak0ya

Source: Keith Urban Fan Only

Vocal Event of the Year

Boys ‘Round Here – Blake Shelton ft. Pistol Annies
Cruise (Remix) – Florida Georgia Line ft.Nelly
Highway Don’t Care – Tim McGraw ft. Taylor Swift & Keith Urban
Wagon Wheel – Darius Rucker ft. Lady Antebellum
We Were Us – Keith Urban & Miranda Lambert

I want “Highway Don’t Care” to win so bad.  “Boys ‘Round Here” is my second guess, but “Highway Don’t Care” had so much star power that I was temporarily blinded this summer, when I saw them perform it at CMA Fest.

Source: ACM Awards

Will you be tuning in?  How accurate are my predictions?  Who are you rooting for?

– xo, A

 

Leave a Reply

