Mindy Kaling Makes Epic Speech For Harvard Law

Credit: Mindy Kaling

Credit: Mindy Kaling

Hi, readers!  I’m sorry I disappeared for a bit, but I’ve been busy!  I’m back now and I hope to get back into the swing of regular blogging.  For my first post after a slow week, I want to talk about Mindy Kaling.  She may have played the (sometimes) vapid Kelly Kapoor on The Office and currently plays rom-com-obsessed Dr. Mindy Lahiri on The Mindy Project, but Kaling is actually pretty smart in real life.  Check out the video behind the cut to see what I mean!

Kaling was invited to speak at Harvard Law School’s Class Day and though she tried to get out of it (see video for explanation), she totally owned it.  Kaling, a Dartmouth College graduate, had quite a few things to tell the graduating class of 2014.  I promise these 16 minutes will go by fast, so watch now!

Some of the highlights:

I do know a ton about the law because I sue everyone.”

“You are all nerds, all of you, except here’s the difference.  You are the nerds who are going to make some serious bank, which is why I am here today…to marry the best-looking amongst you.”

“I would love to do a shampoo commercial, so if anyone from L’Oréal is out there, please just Snapchat me after this.”

“One of you will sort out the details of my prenup. A dozen of you will help me with my acrimonious divorce.”

“Celebrities give too much advice and people listen to it too much. In Hollywood, we all think we’re these wise advice givers, and most of us have no education whatsoever.”

See what I mean?!  This woman is amazing.

What was your favorite quote from the speech?

PS.  If you are not watching The Mindy Project already, sign up for HuluPlus and watch the first two seasons now!  I even got my friend Amanda hooked on it.  Clearly getting my friends obsessed with TV shows is one of my best talents.

– xo, A

One thought on “Mindy Kaling Makes Epic Speech For Harvard Law

Leave a Reply

