Amy Adams Gives First Class Seat to Soldier

Credit: Popsugar

Credit: Popsugar

Amy Adams is one (first) class act.  On a flight from Detroit to Los Angeles, she gave up her first class seat to an American serviceman and took his coach seat in exchange.  Though she attempted to do this privately, word inevitably got out about her act of kindness.  Read on to see what she said about it!

The actress told Inside Edition,

I didn’t do it for attention for myself.  I did it for attention for the troops.”

One of the passengers on the plane, Jemele Hill, told ABC News about what she witnessed.  She said that at her gate in Detroit, Adams spotted a man in uniform and discreetly asked to switch seats with him.
Screen Shot 2014-06-29 at 8.04.38 PM
“I noticed Ms. Adams was in first class and as I was getting seated, I saw the flight attendant guide the soldier to Ms. Adams’ seat. She was no longer in it, but it was pretty clear that she’d given up her seat for him.  I was incredibly impressed, and I’m not even sure if the soldier knew who gave him that seat. I guess he will now!”

Adams, whose father was in the U.S. Military, then met with the soldier up by the cockpit and quietly took her new seat in coach.

Ms. Adams did it so quietly and quickly that it speaks to her character.  And somebody in coach just got a helluva seatmate!”

Source: ABC News

Well, Amy Adams just got a ton of my respect.  What a great and kind thing to do.

– xo, A

Leave a Reply

