What I’m Loving Right Now

whatimlovingSo, since this is my blog, I might as well take advantage of having power for a minute!  Am I right?  I’m always in the mood to tell people about what’s hot on TV and what’s on my current playlist, so that’s what I’m about to do!  If you’re in need of something to entertain you over Spring Break, let me help.  Read more to find out what I’m loving right now!

TV:

Secrets and Lies – Sundays at 9 PM EST – ABC – Hulu

Two words: Ryan Phillippe.  This new drama is committed to 10 episodes, which means that there is an end set in stone for the last episode of season one.  The show is about Phillippe’s character Ben, who finds a neighborhood boy’s body in the woods, but also finds himself in the middle of the crime. Juliette Lewis plays Detective Cornell who zeroes in on Ben, which grabs the media’s attention big time. It’s very reminiscent of Gone Girl.  It’s only a few episodes in, so catch up now!

last kimmy

The Last Man on Earth – Sundays at 9:30 PM EST – FOX – Hulu

This show gets better each week.  I don’t want to give any spoilers away, but Will Forte is absolutely hilarious as the last man on Earth after a virus wipes out humanity.  You’d be amazed at how he entertains himself when there’s no one around.

Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt – Netflix

You’ve probably heard about Tina Fey’s new comedy that has found its home on Netflix.  I just finished the season and I’m already planning on re-watching it.  Ellie Kemper is the adorable Kimmy Schmidt, who was just rescued after spending fifteen years in an underground bunker with a cult leader in order to survive the Apocalypse.  The cast on this show is magical; from Kemper to Jane Krakowski to Tituss Burgess, each character is just so undeniably wacky.  Good news: a second season has been granted!  PS. You’ll be singing this theme song for days to come, so get ready.

 

MOVIES:

alice hawking

Still Alice – available for preorder on iTunes

I just saw this movie and I have to say, Julianne Moore’s Academy Award is so well-deserved.  She plays Alice, a linguistics professor who has been diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s.  Your heart will break as you watch her personality completely disappear from her body as she loses all sense of herself.  Only watch if you’re ready to shed some tears!

The Theory of Everything – iTunes

And now for my favorite film from award season!  I’m still obsessed with this movie about Stephen Hawking and his battle with ALS.  Eddie Redmayne’s Academy Award is also so well-deserved.  This movie is full of hope and inspiration, and while you might let a teardrop slip out, the ending is not totally devastating.

 

Credit: Direct Lyrics

Credit: Direct Lyrics

MUSIC:

Fifty Shades of Grey (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) – iTunes, Spotify

Come for Beyoncé, stay for The Weeknd.  I know, I know, this is all old news, but hear me out.  I just bought the album and I think this music needs to be heard.  The remix of “Crazy In Love” is everything, but my personal fave is “Love Me Like You Do” by Ellie Goulding.  Other notable tracks include “I Put A Spell On You” by Annie Lennox, “Salted Wound” by Sia, and “Witchcraft” by Frank Sinatra.

 

“I Want You To Know” – Zedd ft. Selena Gomez – iTunes, Spotify

First of all, this song is especially great because Zedd and Sel are dating, so it’s just automatically adorable. Second, this is SUCH a jam.  Every time it comes on the radio, I have a solo dance party in my car.

“Lay Me Down” – Sam Smith and John Legend – iTunes, Spotify

Just when you thought Sam Smith’s music couldn’t get better, it did.  This track is the official song for Red Nose Day, a biennial telethon held by Comic Relief.  The sales from iTunes will go to Comic Relief, which works to change the lives of disadvantaged people across the U.K. and Africa.  Isn’t that reason enough to check it out?  Your money goes to charity and you get a great song–it’s a win/win!

Credit: Hip Hop DX

Credit: Hip Hop DX

Original Soundtrack from Season 1 of Empire – iTunes, Spotify

Another show I’m loving is FOX’s breakout hit, Empire.  The show is about a music mogul and his record label, so of course there’s going to be a ton of good music.  You’ll fall in love with the album and you’ll fall in love with the show.  Once you hear “Drip Drop,” there’s no getting it out of your head, so beware. Definitely listen to “Good Enough” and “You’re So Beautiful,” which makes me just want to dance.

 

 

Credit: Barnes & Noble

Credit: Barnes & Noble

BOOKS:

“Your Beautiful Heart” by Lauren Scruggs – Amazon

I just finished this book by Scruggs and I want to recommend it to all of my friends.  It’s geared towards ladies, but there are definitely some things in it that men can relate to.  It is a faith-based book, but I would suggest it to anyone.  For anyone who struggles with feeling beautiful, worries about what others think, or is confused about the direction your life is going, this book is for you.

Image credits: xx, x, x, x, x, x


That’s it for now!  Leave me a comment and let me know what you think of my suggestions and if you checked them out.  Also let me know if YOU have any suggestions that I should take a look at!  I’m always willing to trade interests.  :)

– xo, A

3 thoughts on “What I’m Loving Right Now

Leave a Reply

